Fans of Heroes and Comics Can Head to Florida for This Year’s Pensacon
May 06 2021

Fans of Heroes and Comics Can Head to Florida for This Year’s Pensacon

By: Kellie Arevalo

Pensacon, which is a comic book and pop culture convention for people in the Pensacola and Gulf Coast area will take place at the Pensacola Bay Center in Florida on 201 E. Gregory St. from Friday, May 21 to Saturday, May 23. Founded in 2013, Pensacon is dedicated to hosting the best multi-genre convention that is unique to the Pensacola community with a safe and welcoming environment for all types of fans.

Guests will have the option to purchase regular or VIP experience weekend passes, as well as single day passes. All children under the age of 10 may enter for free. Weekend passes can be pre-purchased and picked up as early as two hours before the start of convention each day at Will Call. Otherwise, tickets can be purchased at the Pensacola Bay Center the day of the convention. There will be limited guest capacity due to COVID-19, so it is important to arrive early and plan ahead.

Celebrity guests such as Patrick Warburton, Ed Asner, Trina Parks, and others will be available for photographs and autographs for all three days. The celebrity tables will be located on the second floor of the Bay Center and can be accessed with interior or exterior stairways. Prices vary by celebrity and not all celebrities or vendors accept credit cards, so it is important to bring plenty of cash.

It is also important to note that the front parking lot at the Bay Center will be reserved for VIP attendees, and the back parking lot is reserved for vendors and volunteers. Parking will be available in the surrounding area and throughout Pensacola for $10. No outside food or drinks will be allowed, but there will be plenty of food vendors at the entrance of the convention center and a variety of restaurants in the area.

To ensure the safety of all participants, Pensacon will be requiring all guests over the age of 11 to wear a mask or face shield that covers the mouth or nose. Guests will have designated areas where they can remove their masks to eat and drink. The event will also enforce social distancing by creating more space between vendors and expanding their outdoor area.

There is something for everyone at Pensacon and it is a great event to learn more about the art of comic books! For more information about tickets, as well as the celebrity guests that will be present, please visit pensacon.com.

Culture

NOLAland: Unlikely Spots Welcome RVs Into Town
Father's Day: Making a Hole in One, in More Ways Than One