Janos Venczak, Unsplash

Pop Culture on the Panhandle: Pensacon Welcomes Cast from The Suicide Squad for 2022

11:00 August 17, 2021
By: Gigi Halpern

Calling all pop culture addicts! Head on down to Pensacola, Florida, and join in on the fun at Pensacon, a three-day fun-filled event featuring premier pop culture on the Gulf Coast. Pop culture conventions across the nation welcome tens of thousands of guests as they celebrate the culture of science fiction, fantasy, horror, comic books, cosplay, animation, video games, and books. For its 2022 convention, Pensacon will welcome the stars of The Suicide Squad from February 18 through 20 to downtown Pensacola. The guest list will include The Suicide Squad's Michael Rooker as Savant, Sean Gunn as Weasel, and Steve Agee as John Economos.

Michael Rooker is known for his roles as Yondu in the Guardian of the Galaxy films, Merle on The Walking Dead, and for his work in films such as Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer, F9, Mallrats, Cliffhanger, Days of Thunder, JFK, Tombstone, Eight Men Out, and Mississippi Burning. He is also known for his outstanding active character roles.

Sean Gunn not only stars as Weasel in The Suicide Squad, but also has a cameo without motion capture. Gunn also appears in the Guardians of the Galaxy films in a similar dual role as the motion capture actor for Rocket Raccoon. He also plays Yondu's right hand man, Kraglin. Gunn is also well known for his role as Kirk in Gilmore Girls.

Besides his role as the Squad's support staff, John Economos, Steven Agee also performs the motion capture for King Shark (voiced by Sylvester Stallone). Agee will be re-enacting his role as Economos in the soon to be released Peacemaker series on HBO Max, a spin-off of The Suicide Squad. Agee is also famous for his roles in series such as The Sarah Silverman Program, New Girl, and Superstore.

According to Pensacon's press release, The Suicide Squad stars will be joined by Dylan McDermott (American Horror Story, The Practice, Law & Order: Organized Crime), David Bradley (the Harry Potter film series, Game of Thrones, Doctor Who), Ryan Hurst (Sons of Anarchy, The Walking Dead, Bates Motel), Andrew Robinson (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Hellraiser, Dirty Harry), WWE Hall of Famer Mick Foley, Supernatural stars Kim Rhodes, Samantha Smith, and Briana Buckmaster, original Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers stars Amy Jo Johnson and David Yost, and dozens more.

Visit pensacon.com for future guest announcements and ticket information.

Sign Up!